Awards & Prizes

DATE2023.08.10 #Awards & Prizes

Professor Emeritus Toshiyuki Hibiya among IUGG Elected Fellows 2023


Professor Hibiya with IUGG President Kathryn Whaler

Professor Emeritus Toshiyuki Hibiya of the Department of Earth and Planetary Science at the School of Science (retired in March 2022) was awarded the Elected Fellowship of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) at the opening ceremony of the 28th IUGG General Assembly held in Berlin, Germany, on July 13, 2023.

IUGG consists of eight Associations (IACS: Cryospheric Sciences, IAG: Geodesy, IAGA: Geomagnetism and Aeronomy, IAHS: Hydrological Sciences, IAMAS: Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences, IAPSO: Physical Sciences of the Oceans, IASPEI: Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior, IAVCEI: Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth's Interior). The IUGG Elected Fellowship is awarded to researchers "who have made exceptional contributions to international cooperation in geodesy or geophysics and attained eminence in the field of Earth and space sciences." Professor Hibiya was selected for "being a global leader in the production of ocean turbulence by the internal tide and the parameterization of mixing in ocean and climate models." He is the first Japanese national to become an IUGG Elected Fellow.


IUGG Elected Fellows 2023

IUGG Opening Ceremony (July 13, 2023)

(Written by the Department of Ocean Sciences, Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology)