Awards & Prizes

DATE2023.12.27 #Awards & Prizes

Assistant Professor Kazuki Yokomizo won the 40th Inoue Research Award for Young Scientists

Disclaimer: machine translated by DeepL which may contain errors.

Assistant Professor
Kazuki Yokomizo

Dr. Kazuki Yokomizo, Assistant Professor of Department of Physics, has received the 40th Inoue Research Award for Young Scientists.

While a doctoral student in the Department of Physics at the Tokyo Institute of Technology, Dr. Yokomizo developed a general Bloch theory for non-Hermitian systems. In non-Hermitian systems with spatial periodicity, there was no theory to describe the energy spectrum under open boundary conditions due to a peculiar phenomenon called the non-Hermitian skin effect. Yokomizo showed that the Bloch wavenumber is complex in one-dimensional systems, and established a general method for determining the set of complex wavenumbers (generalized Brillouin zone) in one dimension. As a result, he found that the generalized Brillouin zone can have cusps and depends on the parameters of the system, which is a completely different behavior from that of Hermite systems. Furthermore, we showed that the bulk-edge correspondence of topological phases, which was thought to break down in non-Hermitian systems, can be established by using the generalized Brillouin zone. This result provides a basis for extending the properties of topological phases in Hermitian systems to non-Hermitian systems as well. These results have contributed greatly to the development of research on band topology in non-Hermitian physics and have been applied to various physical systems. These points were highly evaluated and led to the award this time.

Dr. Yokomizo is now working as an Assistant Professor in the Ashida Laboratory, Department of Physics, where he is expanding his research into the field of active matter and other areas, and is expected to continue to make further contributions in the future.

The 40th Inoue Research Award for Young Scientists (The article is written in Japanese)

(Responsibility: Shuichi Murakami, Professor, Department of Physics, Tokyo Institute of Technology)