The University of Tokyo

The University of Tokyo

The University of Tokyo

Founded in 1877, being the oldest national university in Japan, The University of Tokyo (UTokyo) is one of the most important research hubs not only of Asia but also of the world.

Currently, the University of Tokyo is comprised of 10 Faculties, 15 Graduate Schools, 11 affiliated research institutes, 13 University-wide centers. Furthermore, the Faculties, Graduate Schools and Research Institutes have facilities associated with them; for instance, the University of Tokyo Hospital is one such facility.

More than 5,800 faculty members teach approximately 14,000 undergraduate students and about 13,000 of graduate students. These numbers include 3,000 foreign students from over 100 countries.

Over the course of its long and distinguished history, the university has produced some of the most outstanding scholars, scientists, and social and political leaders of Japan including Seven Nobel laureates such as Leo Esaki, Masatoshi Koshiba, and Yoichiro Nambu, as well as the first Fields award winner of Japan, Kunihiko Kodaira.

UTokyo aims to be a world-class platform for research and education, contributing to human knowledge in partnership with other leading global universities.

Supervisor Lists

Hosting Faculties