Saint Peterburg State University

Saint Petersburg State University

Saint Petersburg State University
Санкт-Петербургский Государственный Университет

Saint Petersburg State University is the oldest university in Russia. On a par with Moscow State University, it is a prestigious institute that has produced many notable figures.

After being established along with the Russian Academy of Sciences by Peter the Great in 1724, Saint Petersburg State University was separated and became an independent university in 1819. Now, 32,000 undergraduate students and 4,000 graduate students study at 24 faculties in total, and the university hosts 1,400 international students.

Among the alumni, there are seven Nobel laureates, including Ilya Mechnikov, Ivan Pavlov, Lev Landau, Nikolay Semenov and Aleksandr Prokhorov. In addition, Stanislav Smirnov was awarded the Fields Medal.

The campus is located in the Vassileostrovsky area, and faces the State Hermitage Museum across the Neva River.

Supervisor Lists

Hosting faculties