Professor Shin-ichi Ohkoshi receives Humboldt Research Award - School of Science, the University of Tokyo
Dec 13, 2019

Professor Shin-ichi Ohkoshi receives Humboldt Research Award

Associate Professor Yoshinori Yamanoi, Department of Chemistry



Prof. Shin-ichi Ohkoshi

Professor Shin-ichi Ohkoshi from the Department of Chemistry has received a Humboldt Research Award. This award was founded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Germany and acknowledges the outstanding research achievements of internationally renowned researchers from various disciplines who are expected to continue conducting groundbreaking research at the forefront of their field. The Humboldt Research Award is regarded as the most prestigious international award in Germany and many recipients have gone on to win the Nobel Prize.

Professor Ohkoshi was recognized for his highly-regarded research on phase transition phenomena, which has resulted in the creation of new materials. Based on his novel molecular designs, Professor Ohkoshi has developed magnetic metal complexes that exhibit new phenomena, such as humidity responsive magnets, light-induced spin-crossover ferromagnets, and chiral photomagnets that show magnetization-induced second harmonic generation. Furthermore, he developed the world’s smallest hard ferrite magnet using an epsilon-type iron oxide (ε-Fe2O3). This magnet demonstrates both a very large coercive field and high millimeter wave absorption frequency, which has had a significant impact in applied fields. These findings were reported worldwide by BBC News and the magnet was displayed at a special exhibition at the Science Museum in London, England. Professor Ohkoshi is also an advocate for “heat-storage ceramics,” a concept he created after his discovery of lambda trititanium pentoxide (λ-Ti3O5), the first metal oxide to exhibit light-induced phase transition and store heat energy for a long period of time. This finding was reported worldwide by Agence France-Presse (AFP) and gained a lot of interest.

Professor Ohkoshi’s research achievements have resulted in more than 350 academic publications, 130 review articles and 240 patent applications, as well as earned academic acclaim worldwide and received substantial attention from industry.

Congratulations to Professor Ohkoshi on this achievement and we look forward to his continued success.

Prior recipients of the Humboldt Research Award from the School of Science include:

Professor Emeritus Akito Arima (1987)
Honorary Professor Emeritus Masatoshi Koshiba (1997)
University Professor Eiichi Nakamura (2006)
Professor Toshiyuki Kobayashi (2008)
Professor Shu Kobayashi (2013)

For more information, please visit

― Office of Communication ―

  • Bookmark